The blog – One Year On

So … the first birthday for “A Kick In The Head Is Worth 8 In The Pants” is almost upon us – how time flies when we’re having fun!

I thought I’d mark the occasion by reminiscing a bit, so feel free to jump to another post if you so desire.

What? Oh, you’re still here … well, this is awkward!  I was expecting everyone to leave … er … *scratches head* … I guess I’ll have to come up with something a bit sharpish, then!

I won’t pretend that doing this has been easy.  There have been trials and tribulations, but a lot of good memories too.  The main problem, I think, was that I vastly underestimated the amount of time that it would take up, not only coming up with post ideas and then writing then, but also the collation of all the info.

Despite the problems I am proud of what I’ve accomplished so far.  I wasn’t sure that anyone would take much notice when I started, but if I’m honest, that wasn’t foremost in my mind at the time.  No, I was just trying to keep my brain active.  However, as the blog has developed and gained a few regular readers, that changed slightly.  I was now conscious that other people were reading what I was putting out there and I wanted to make it worthwhile.

To that end I’ve tried to keep the posts varied between the usual news thru reviews of rarely heard tracks to some weird and wonderful collectables – in fact I’m working on an update to that, so watch this space.

If I could have one wish for the future it would be to see Barry and Robin in the studio, recording another piece of history together before they finally call it a day.

How things used to look!

I have to admit that it has sometimes been difficult seeing new music from either of them becoming scarcer every year, especially when you think back to how prolific they once were.  Live concerts are also happening less often and in less places – I think my one regret in this life is that I was never fortunate enough to see the Bee Gees live, in their prime.

We do have some good times to look forward to, not least of which is the release of Robin’s “Titanic Requiem” in March, which I’m sure we’re all looking forward to, especially if you’ve been listening to the clips on Robin’s website.

I’m sure there’ll be other shenanigans going on and you can rest assured that, if it’s important, I will be posting about it.

Thanks to everyone – I honestly do appreciate each and every visitor that passes through these pages.

